Week 10 Journal 679

Week 679 Journal

This week our Essential Question asked how we would change the rubric for the final project to better reflect what is important in games? I wrote that I wouldn’t change anything on the rubric. The research that I did supported what was on the rubric. The only point that I am reconsidering is the story part. Gerald showed some research that shows story line does not have to be in the rubric. This is making me rethink that part, but, other than that, I thought the other sections of the rubric were good.

In responding to others’ blogs, I felt the same way as Mariah in that I am not sure how I can strive for “Exceeds,” since I have never done gamification in my class. This is a very good point! Matera encourages teachers who are beginning to adopt gamification in the classroom to be implemented at a small level. I already felt overwhelmed when I read the chapter on all the games, badges, and things like that. I was like “Wow” this is a lot. I would have to start very small.

Sarah mentioned a very important step here: “Teachers should know what they want their students to know, before they start teaching it to them.” I wasn’t seeing what story line was. I like what she wrote here: “My storyline that I have deals with the students being part of a team that has left Earth in search of a new home. To reach their new safe haven, they will have to navigate the depths of space, running into different issues along the way.” I think I understand now what a story line is. I like the second tip that Meyer (2016) shares for gamifying a course: don’t build everything at once. I think I would start to feel overwhelmed if I tried to do this. I like the motivation part as well—human survival sounds exciting! It is awesome how she is going to let students choose which assignment appeals to them. Sounds like a lot of work to create different assignments, but her unit sounds awesome! I am excited to hear how her students respond to it.

Heather had some concerns about the rubric in that there were too many concepts. I said I have to agree. This is very interesting what she quoted here from Duarte (2010): “stories are the most powerful delivery tool for information, more powerful and enduring than any other art form.” I think it is very important to have a good story with our units so we can hook students right off the bat. I like the treasure map idea. I still need to think of a story for my unit.

Gerald mentioned an interesting fact about Tetris and Minecraft. I used to play Tetris when I had time, and I didn’t think about the story line when I was playing a game. He wrote, “Gabe Zichermann relates that there is no need to have a story when the key story is the user’s own progression to mastery through game play.” I think a lot of players don’t care for the story line, so it may not be an essential element. If this is true, it may not be appropriate in the rubric or may need to be described differently, like “story line or path to mastery.”

It has been going great in this class. I am still struggling with the gamification of a unit. I am thinking of keeping it on Alaska since, in the other, class I am doing my unit on Alaska. I look forward to the new platform that we are going to learn about next week. I also look forward to talking with others in class and getting some ideas about gamification and things that I can bring in to gamify my unit. Hopefully, by interacting with others, I can get more ideas on what to do and be able to create a great gamified unit that I can use in my classroom.

Leave a Reply

