Week 7 Journal 679

Week 7 Journal 679

Our Essential Question this week was “How do you or might you use language to change the way that your students think about learning in the classroom?” Mr. Matera taught his students qualities that highly successful people have in common, which include confidence, creativity, enthusiasm, effort, focus, resilience, initiative, curiosity, dependability, and empathy. I think these are great words to use in your classroom and to teach your students to change the way they think about learning.

In the article titled “Engaging Students in Learning,” it is said that “Research has demonstrated that engaging students in the learning process increases their attention and focus, motivates them to practice higher-level critical thinking skills and promotes meaningful learning experiences. Instructors who adopt a student-centered approach to instruction increase opportunities for student engagement, which then helps everyone more successfully achieve the course’s learning objectives.”

In responding to others’ blogs, Matt wrote about Growth Mind Set. Another classmate mentioned this in their blog. I had forgotten that our school worked with this last year with our students and will be doing so again this year. We need to teach our students that our brain is a muscle and we need to work it. I really like the Growth Mind Set video that Matt shared. I have emailed it to myself so I can share with others at my school and show the students.

Kate made a great point when she said “I work hard to show them how failures are actually successes because they teach us something.” Students need to understand that sometimes they will fail because we all fail at times, but the thing is that you don’t give up; you keep trying until you get it right.

Gerald mentioned the ten common qualities that Matera describes successful people having. I think these are great words to teach our students. I agreed, these words can help us convey to students what it means to have purpose in learning.  I like what he said here, “We have not had a chance to teach students how to learn, and to enjoy learning.  I believe the one stigma that needs to change in our educational system is to allow students to fail.” This is true and I also believe that if we had more games in the classroom the students would see that failing is part of life, so it’s important not to give up and to keep trying.

Sarah echoed these great qualities from the readings: Confidence, Creativity, Enthusiasm, Effort, Focus, Resilience, Initiative, Curiosity, Dependability, and Empathy. I also believe that by putting emphasis on these traits in the classroom we can shift the focus of learning to beyond the classroom. What she said here is so very true: “If we want students to accept a new way of learning, then we need to teach them the language of that learning. We can’t expect students to automatically know the learning language that we, as teachers, are just becoming more comfortable with.”

I look forward to the next presentation on ClassCraft, which that a few of my classmates will be giving. I have never heard of ClassCraft so am excited to learn something new and see if and how I might incorporate it into my classroom. It has been a busy week, and I look forward to learning new material and interacting with my classmates in the week ahead.

Leave a Reply

