Week 6 Journal

Week 6 Journal 679

Our blog prompt for this week was, “What is the implication of player type on game design?” Different players will work their way through games using different playing styles, so it is helpful for a teacher to be able to identify which students use which approaches. Fortunately, there are programs to help figure this out. You can use your results from these sites to better understand how your students work and also to create groups of similar players in your classroom.

My gamer type that I got was Explorer. I took two quizzes just to make sure it was accurate, and both said the same thing. I believe the tests to be fairly accurate, even though I am not a gamer type of person. I like what Holland said about the gamer types and how they function in the classroom. I think this would be helpful as a teacher because we need to understand our individual students in order to reach them.

In responding to others’ blogs, I found myself thinking the same way as Mariah. Some of the questions I don’t think I would do if I were playing a game, so I answered them the best that I can. I did take two quizzes and both said I am an Explorer, which I think is a pretty accurate predictor of what I would be like if I played more games. I like what she said here: “Having the knowledge of which students have what gamer type is key in having successful gamified activities in the classroom because you can use each type of gamer to help the class be a great learning environment.” I think this is true, but wonder if these quizzes we took are the best ways to figure out what type of gamers students are. I am sure there are students like me who don’t play games at all or very little. It would be interesting to find out.

This discover from Sarah was interesting: “Marczewski (2015) adds two additional player types, Disruptor and Player, to the mix. He explains Players as those who are in it just for the rewards and only for themselves. The Disruptors want to disrupt the gameplay of others, either in a positive or negative way.” I wonder if Disruptor is like the Killer?  Sarah also was Explorer when she took the test. She wrote that Kiang (2016) looks at the four player types and how they would behave in a classroom gaming situation, which made me think about what type my students—I thought this student might be an Explorer and so on.  I like the idea of grouping your students by gamer type or dividing them into separate groups so they can appreciate others’ strengths.

Matt also quoted Kiang (2016):“The way we play games mirrors how we act in real life.” I thought this was interesting, but I am not solely convinced this to be true. He talked about Class Craft. I told him I’d never heard of Class Craft and wondered how he is using this in his classroom—i.e., with which grade and subject? I told him my quiz results were both Explorer. Although I do not play games online I think this is fairly accurate.

Kate got two different results from her quizzes. I told her I did the same thing and took the two tests to see if I would get different results, but, to my surprise, I got the same result—Explorer. She made a good point, writing “Unless the rewards systems are modified to be intrinsic and meet the needs of the individual player groups, gamification will lose its appeal for a large percentage of the students in a classroom.” I see that in my classes when I give out Rambucks, which is fake money that students can use at the school store. Some students are so excited to get them; others don’t care and may give their Rambucks away. This illustrates the way different personality styles affect how students relate to various class activities.

This coming Tuesday, Larissa, Heather, Mariah and I will be presenting on Google VR Cardboard. I find this very exciting since I bought some Google Cardboards for my class. We are presenting what Google Cardboard is, how we can get it, and how we can use in the classroom. This is all new to me, so I am very excited to learn more about this. I have been learning a lot by researching about it to get information for our presentation. Just like anything new you get, it will take a while to get use to it and learn the tricks to it. I look forward to when my Google Cardboards come in and I can figure out ways I can integrate this into my classroom. I also look forward to learning about the other platforms that are going to be presented on in this class—how I can use them in my class and how they might benefit my students.

Leave a Reply

