Week 7 Reflection 636

Week 7 Reflection 636

This week in class we made an infographic on the most important things to remember when observing students. It was fun to make. I think the infographic helps us to remember the key points when observing students. I took the 6 points on my infographic from Merriam & Tisdell (2009):

1. The physical setting: What is the environment like?

2. The participants: How many are there and what are their characteristics?

3. Activities and interactions: What is going on? How do the people interact with the activity?

4. Conversation: Who speaks? Who listens? Content of conversation.

5. Subtle factors: Informal and unplanned activities, nonverbal communication, and physical space. What does not happen?

6. Your own behavior: Are you an observer or participant?

You don’t really think about these things when observing students, so making an infographic was a good way to help us remember what we are looking for when observing students.  I thought the other infographics I saw were very good. It is interesting to see what others make from their reading, and everyone did a great job.

For our Twitter session, our questions focused on our reading on observation.  One thing I took from our Twitter session was to make sure to note the time that you are observing students. You will get different results for different times of the day. For my project, I asked if someone could observe and take notes for me. I think someone else can get more detailed notes that I can. It is hard to write notes and teach class and observe all at once. I need to also reflect right away on what I have observed so I don’t forget. The last important thing I learned was to make sure to cite the infographics as we make them. I was thinking that we could just do that on the paper, after our rationale, but our instructor said to make sure to put citations on the infographic in case someone forwards it or re-shares it.

In response to others’blogs, Tristan made the good point about noting the time when observing your students. I want to look to see if I notice a difference in students’behavior when observing them at different times of the day.  Peter made a point to remember the 5 W’s when observing. Sarah pointed out to try to focus on a few points when observing. I think that is a good idea, because observing is hard to maintain when trying to write down all that you are observing. Genevieve suggested keeping notes simple, and Cherie had a great infographic on points to remember. Everyone did a great job on their infographics, and I took away many points to remember. It has been a busy time, but some excellent information was shared this week.

Reference

Merriam, S., & Tisdell, E. (2009). Qualitative research: A guide to design and implementation. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass.

Leave a Reply

