Week 7 Blog 668

Week 7 Essential Question 668: Why are all five components of leadership necessary for success in leading through change?

How do you feel about change? For some it is fear of the unknown; others are excited for the challenge. I tend to be a little on both sides. I think it depends on what is being changed. For example, when the Danielson’s model first came to our school and I heard that we were going to be evaluated from that model, I was nervous. I did not know anything about Danielson. I did learn to accept it from the trainings that our principal provided for us. I think most people can accept change as long as they have the support they need to accept it. Some people need more support than others. I definitely know change is necessary for success to happen in our schools.

Fuller (2014) talks about five components of leadership necessary for success in leading through change:

1. Moral purpose: Acting to make a positive difference in the lives of employees, customers, and society as a whole.

2. Understanding change: It is essential that leaders understand the change process.

3. Relationship building: Leaders must build relationships with diverse people and groups, especially with people different than themselves.

4. Knowledge creation and sharing: Collectivizing knowledge is a social process and that is why you need good relationships.

5 Coherence: Making overall sense, understandability, or consistency. (dictionary.com).

I think all components intertwine to make the process work.  Leaders need to be positive to make changes happen. They need to know the change process for it to occur. Change occurs with a group of people. You cannot make change happen by yourself. This is where relationship building comes in. Hoff (2014) points out that diversity is not only cultural differences or  racial or gender differences, but it should also be about involving people with different backgrounds, experiences, and approaches. After you are share with your group and turn knowledge into a social process, the last part is to ensure the process is consistent and understandable.

This is why I think all the parts are necessary. I think if you don’t have all the parts then change will not happen. As I learn more about the 5 components of leadership, I don’t see myself as an expert but as a part of a collective working together and collaborating for a better change. I think relationship is the most important part. You need to be willing to work with others as a team. You need to listen to others’ ideas and collaborate with them. Sometimes you may not see eye to eye, but that is when change most often happens. It is when groups come together and come up with different ideas that change begins to unfold. Without this process, change will not happen.

References

Coherence. (2015). Dictionary.com Unabridged. Retrieved October 12, 2015, from Dictionary.com website: http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/coherence

Fullan, M. (2014). Leading in a Culture of Change. Somerset, NJ, USA: John Wiley & Sons, Incorporated. Retrieved from http://www.ebrary.com

Hoff, W. (2009). The 5 C’s Of Leadership. Retrieved October 15, 2015, from http://www.developmentfirstllc.com/dl/5cs.pdf

7 thoughts on “Week 7 Blog 668

  1. I agree that in order have a positive change, all five components should intertwine. We used to have the Danielson framework as a way to evaluate teachers (when I was student teaching), now we use the Marzano Model. It’s still brand new to us, and teachers are always questioning it. I think it’s the leaders responsibility to create a positive change.

    Like

    1. That is interesting! I have not heard of that model. Was it a big change for teachers or it is almost the came? Hopefully it is not to much of a drastic change. I hate once you get use to one thing and then they change it. I guess though sometimes change is for the better.

      Like

  2. I find that whenever our district changes some major part to how we are going to instruct, that there is always a huge resistance to the new idea. Partly because I think they fear that it will create more work, and partly because there have been so many changes over time that haven’t been stuck with for long many don’t trust it is worth learning. “It won’t be around for long”. Sometimes I feel like the changes would be better received with the right presentation of change. Call it a better anticipatory set.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree! I see that as well in my school. Yes I have seen so many changes as well. Jus when I get used to one seem like they change it again. Like with our grading program over the years.

      Like

  3. We are also changing to the Danielson Model and this year will be our first year. I wonder how long have you been going through this? We are still struggling to figure out exactly what we will be evaluated on. Our district said that it would be a slow implementation and we would focus on certain sections each year over two or three years, but it’s hard to focus on only certain areas and there is still confusion. It would be nice to hear how it’s going in other places.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes this is our 2nd or 3rd year. We have focused just on one section each time. I still have hard time remember what the section are but I think I am getting it. We have had training on it a few times which has helped.

      Like

Leave a Reply

