Proposal 636

Introduction

I am planning to use Kahoot in my classroom.  Kahoot is an online program that enables teachers to create questions to ask students. I want to see if using this kind of interface will positively impact participation. I have observed that when I ask questions I often don’t get very many students participating. I have also noticed that some students are shy and don’t like to talk very much in front of others. I would like to change this and give those students a voice and generally increase participation in my class. I want kids to be excited about learning and thrilled when I say we are going to review today. I have almost 130 students, and I plan to try this with every class. My research question is: “Will Kahoot increase student participation in my classroom?”

Literature Review

Technology has changed the way we look at information. Students are growing up on technology. According to the census bureau, in 2013, 74.4 percent of all households reported Internet use. Household computer ownership and Internet use were most common in homes with relatively young householders (File & Ryan, 2013). Students in record numbers are getting online to play games. They have Xbox 360, Playstations 3 and 4, Wii systems, Nintendo, and games that they play on their phones, computers, iPads, etc. When students go to school, they can see the difference between their world and in school. Most schools have out of date information and can’t keep up with the ever-changing technology. Engagement is important in a classroom. Any teacher wants to see a student engaged and participating in class. The article “QoE in a Cloud-Based Classroom Response System” describes Kahoot as a tool to keep the attention of students and increase engagement.

The company Kahoot was born in 2012 (Collins, 2015). Its classroom tool can be played on any device with Internet. It uses a game response system where students participate and answer questions that are on the board, earning points for their responses. Kahoot uses a game-like interface, so it is easy for students to relate to the platform (Bharti, 2015).

According to the article “Kahoot Is Gamifying Quizzes & Classroom Participation,” by TechFaster, Kahoot is leading the charge to “gamify” quizzes and classroom participation. But these kinds of game response systems are nothing new. They have been around since the 1980s. Kahoot is different, though, in that a student can participate with any device. As explained in the TechFaster article “Kahoot Is Gamifying Quizzes & Classroom Participation,” “First and foremost it creates 100% engagement in the classroom, focusing students on the content being taught, motivated through the game…. a rare, or unheard of feat!” How does it do this? It changes the classroom into a game show where everyone can participate and try to get the highest score on the board. Multiple studies have shown an increase in students’ attendance, attentiveness, enthusiasm, and in-class participation using tools like Kahoot (Bullock et al., 2003; Roschelle, et al., 2004; and Wits, 2003). Teachers can also print out a spreadsheet at the beginning or end of a lesson to assess current student knowledge (Vasek, 2015).

Gamification in the classroom can be used to increase participation, engage learners, and bring a positive attitude to students’behavior.  It can also increase their enjoyment of learning. Kahoot can also help students develop skills in communication, collaboration, and presentation (Matthew et al., 2015). The main problem in today’s classrooms is the lack of engagement and motivations for students to participate (Kiryakova et al., 2014). Because they are used to being stimulated by technology in everyday life, students easily get bored with the old teaching methods. Kahoot can change that in the classroom. Students will be excited to learn and participate, and you will see engagement and motivation increase.

Methodology

I am creating questions to program into Kahoot to be used in classroom sessions. Beginning this week, I will start using Kahoot sessions once or twice a week (weeks 7-11). I will collect data though observation and by tabulating correct and incorrect responses. Kahoot can create a print-out of a spreadsheet showing which students answered and what their answers were. I am planning to use that as well. I plan to use Kahoot on the days where we have long classes. I may use it as a “brain break” halfway through class. I also plan to create a survey and to use to ask the students what they think of Kahoot. Would they recommend other teachers use it? Why do they like (or dislike) using Kahoot? These are a few that I have come up with now. It may change as I go through the research process.

Project Timeline

My timeline is week 1- I plan to introduce Kahoot to the students week of October 5th. Have students create user names for themselves. Students will use their real name as I need it for the data that I am collecting. I will be collecting data once a week after each use of Kahoot. I will print out the spreadsheet that Kahoot offers.

Week 2-5- I will have student play Kahoot and collect data each time they play. I also plan to observe when they are on Kahoot. I have create a Kahoot quiz to play with them. I play to use it the first couple of times and maybe change it up a bit.

Week 6 -I plan to do a survey with the students on what their thought are of Kahoot. I then will go over my data that I have collected the last few weeks and see if I see an increases in students participating and improvement.

References

Bharti, P. (2015). How Kahoot Can Help Teachers to Engage Students. Retrieved September 26, 2015.

Collins, K. (2015). Kahoot! is gamifying the classroom (Wired UK). Retrieved September 26, 2015.

D. Bullock, V. LaBella, T. Clingan, Z. Ding, G. Stewart, and P. Thibado, “Enhancing the student-instructor interaction frequency,” The Physics Teacher, vol. 40, no. 9, pp. 535–541, 2003.

EdTech: Kahoot Is Gamifying Quizzes & Classroom Participation | TechFaster. (2014). Retrieved September 26, 2015.

E. Wit, “Who wants to be. . . the use of a personal response system in statistics teaching,” MSOR Connections, vol. 3, no. 2, pp. 14–20, 2003.

File, T., & Ryan, C. (2013). Computer and Internet Use in the United States: 2013. Retrieved September 26, 2015.

J. Roschelle, W. R. Penuel, and L. Abrahamson, “Classroom response and communication systems: Research review and theory,” in Annual Meeting of the American Educational Research Association, San Diego, CA, pp. 1–8, 2004.

Kiryakova, G., Angelova, N., & Yordanova, L. (2014). Gamification in education. Proceedings of 9th International Balkan Education and Science Conference.

Matthews, J., Matthews, M., & Alcena, F. (2015). EDD-7914–Curriculum Teaching and Technology.

QoE in a Cloud-Based Classroom Response System: A Real-Life Longitudinal and Cross-Sectional Study of Kahoot!.

Vasek, M. (2015). Technology Tool-Hoot Hoot! Kahoot! Retrieved October 3, 2015, from http://www.texasreaders.org/uploads/4/4/9/0/44902393/spring_2015_newsletter.pdf.

Leave a Reply

