Week 5 668

Essential Question 668:

What are your thoughts about “learning in the collective”?

What does collective mean? “Collectives are made of people who share values and beliefs about the world, who value participation, and engaged in a set of practices.” ( Brown & Thomas, 2011).  Learning is the collective is the new way of learning. People are getting online to learn and interact with each other. With just a computer and internet, one can view just about any information and points of view, ( Brown & Thomas, 2011). If you would of ask me this a year ago I would of had a different reply. Now I am excited about learning in the collective. I tweet and blog with others and enjoy it. It is a new kind of learning that is taking the world by storm. Many people are learning in the collective and prefer it.

Brown & Thomas (2013) said, “The new culture of learning is based on three principles: (1) The old ways of learning are unable to keep up with our rapidly changing world. (2) New media forms are making peer-to-peer learning easier and more natural. (3) Peer-to-peer learning is amplified by emerging technologies that shape the collective nature of participation with those new media.” Today’s technology is making a rapidly changing world. New media forms are like Twitter, blogs, Facebook, and other media forms like this. It is becoming easier to find a group that has your same interest and be able to connect with them. “People learn through their interaction and participation with one another in fluid relationships that are the result of shared interests and opportunity “(Brown & Thomas, 2013).

Learning in the collective is more goal orientated for students. Often students will take classes, follows blogs or tweets that relate to their interests.

In the article by Franklin University it said, “Online learning environment is more conducive to your individual learning style.” Students are able to learn at their own pace, can come and go to which blogs or tweets they are following. It also motivates the learner. Most learners are following something they are passionate about and this motivates them to learn more or to seek more information on it.

Living in the collective is the new way to learn. I think we should be bringing this type of learning in the classroom. Just think what students could do if they were learning like this in the classroom. They are learning like this outside of the classroom so what not bring it in? In their jobs that they have they will have to work in groups and communicate with each other. This is a good way to get them started for their future.

References

Benefits of Online Learning at Franklin University. (2015). Retrieved September 29, 2015, from http://www.franklin.edu/online-learning/benefits-of-online-education

Brown, J. & Thomas, D.(2011). A new culture of learning: Cultivating the imagination for a world of constant change. Lexington, Ky.: http://littlebylittlejohn.com/change11-position-paper/collective-learning-examples/.

Brown, J., & Thomas, D. (2013). Learning in the Collective – Hybrid Pedagogy. Retrieved September 29, 2015, from http://www.hybridpedagogy.com/journal/learning-in-the-collective/

9 thoughts on “Week 5 668

  1. I agree that it’s an all new kind of learning. It’s fun and engaging. I’ve taken online classes thru UAF my 3rd and 4th year of undergrad school, and I liked that I was able to work full time, yet still interact with classmates via blackboard in the evening. This is my first year tweeting, and I’m enjoying it. I get a lot of ideas from our tweeting sessions and I learn from others. I used Edmodo in Fairbanks and I wouldn’t mind using it again (for a older age group).

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I too enjoy Twitter. I wish I wasn’t limited to 150 characters. I always run out of characters. And sometimes when we have our course Tweet sessions I wish the computer would read the Tweets to me, but that’s mostly because I am a visual and auditory learner. I really enjoy the courses when we have a Google Hangout 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I heard Twitter was going to expand the limit of characters. I think it was in the news a couple of weeks ago. I don’t remember where I heard or read it. That would be nice though. I often have to go back and try to delete some words so I am under the character limit. 🙂

        Like

  2. You wrote: “Just think what students could do if they were learning like this in the classroom. They are learning like this outside of the classroom so what not bring it in?”
    I agree it’s important to tap into what students are doing outside of school and try to make a connection in school. Using the same tech tools would help. As I was reading your blog I started thinking maybe I should be sharing with students how I use technology professionally and personally to learn in the collective.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think that would be a good idea so they can see for themselves if they are learning in the collective as well. I bet some of the students have learned something from the collective.

      Like

  3. I too have adjusted to learning in the collective. LOL I love that on Twitter I am limited to 150 characters. I’m not a person of many words. LOL.

    You said “They are learning like this outside of the classroom so what not bring it in”. Good point. I also like how you relate learning in the collective to jobs in the future.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

