Week 5 Blog 636

Essential Question: 636: How will data collection “look” for me? What challenges am I anticipating?

My research project is going to involve using Kahoot in my classroom. I want to see if there is a difference in student participation when using an online tool. So my data collection will mostly be through observation. I also plan to survey the students about their experiences using the online tool.

Why do I think that observation is the best for data collection? I can see first hand how many students are participating by how many answers appear on the board. Observation is the best technique to use when an activity can be observed first hand (Merriam & Tisdell, 2009). This will make it easy to see who is participating and what percentage of the students in a class are participating.

What challenges do I anticipate? Well I know, for one, I have to worry about the computer batteries dying on the students. Initially, I had wanted to do this project with all of my classes so I could compare results across a range of students and classes. I may have to do just one class. Or I may spread out the research over different days, so I can charge the computers overnight. The thing about these computers is they are old and, by the time my last class gets on, most of the batteries may be dead. Quite frustrating! I need to be able to observe what portion of the class is participating. Often, in my normal classroom setting, I will only get responses from a few students, or the same ones will answer. I am hoping that  Kahoot will give those shy students a voice and increase participation. One thing you can do is download the data and produce a spreadsheet showing all of the participants and the questions they answered (Maddox, 2014). That is very awesome and good thing to know. Maddox also talks about having the students use their real names because some will use silly or inappropriate names. I can see that happening with my group of students. She did say we have the option to kick out a name, but I will have them use their real names to avoid that. Other that these issues, I don’t see anything else that will be challenging—or at least not yet.

I know I still have much to do to make sure that this Kahoot project goes smoothly with my classes. I want to make sure that I know how to make a quiz or questions. I will have to play around with it for a bit. I am sure there are other features that Kahoot has that I will figure out. I will have to research the literature more and check to see what they have on YouTube showing how it works. I am confident that, despite the technological obstacles I face in my school, I will find a way to get Kahoot running smoothly so that I can complete my research. I also believe the students are going to love it.

References

Merriam, S., & Tisdell, E. (2009). Qualitative research: A guide to design and implementation. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass.

Maddox, J. (2014). Exploring School Counseling. Retrieved September 30, 2015, from http://exploringschoolcounseling.blogspot.com/2014/12/making-data-collection-fun-with-kahoot.html

10 thoughts on “Week 5 Blog 636

  1. Theresa,

    My data collection is going to be similar to yours as I am also planning on doing observations and using surveys. Do you know how you are going to organize your observations? “This will make it easy to see who is participating and what percentage of the students in a class are participating.” Are you planning on observing every time you use Kahoot? How much extra time do you think will be devoted to this?

    Do you know what kinds of questions you are going to ask on your surveys? Will they be Likert-scale surveys, or are you going to ask for written responses from students?

    You mentioned wanting to focus on the shy students to see if they participate more. Do you already know which students are the shy ones? Are you going to have a baseline with which to compare your research data?

    I think our projects are very similar, so I can’t wait to see your proposal. Maybe we can compare notes as we go!

    Like

    1. I am not sure yet but I know Khaoot can print out spreadsheet of how your students responded. I am planning on doing that each time I use it so I can look to see who participated. I was going to ask questions like if they prefer to study questions online versus paper? Do they like to compete? Would they recommend Kahoot to other teachers? What do they like about it? Things like this I think. Yes I probably will use it about once a week so I can observe then. Yes I do know the ones that talk out and ones that don’t like to talk. That would be awesome! I look forward to seeing yours as well.

      Like

  2. Are you going to be comparing the shy students to the more talkative students? Or are you going to do any comparing of how the shy students are involved prior to Kahoot to when they have Kahoot to voice their opinions or give answers? With the answers on the board, does it give the name of the student who gave the answer by it? If so, I’m just wondering how that will affect the shy students? If it will help because they don’t have to talk, or if it will still make them not want to be involved.

    What grades do you teach? What type of survey are you using? I’m using my seventh grade class as my population and I’m planning on surveying my students at the end of the project, but am trying to figure out which method is going to work best for students.

    Like

    1. That is a good point! I do need them to write their name or maybe their initials. I still think students can figure out who it is even with initials. Maybe though it may help those who are shy instead of seeing their name. I will have to watch for that. I teach 7th grade. I want to survey them as well as the end. I probably will just write a survey not sure what type. I am still trying to figure out which method as well. 🙂

      Like

  3. I’ve never of heard of Kahoot until you mentioned it. I like that along with that youre having your students complete surveys. That’s a good idea. I’ll also be using observations to collect data but I never thought about surveys for my kids. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It will be nice that the technology you are studying also records data. Will you be collecting any data on students’ thoughts and feelings. For example, will you collect data on whether or not students enjoy Kahoot, data on whether or not students believe that Kahoot is effective, or data on whether or not students believe their voice is heard using Kahoot?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What kinds of things will you be looking for in your observations? I think that might be the hardest part. I know when I use it in my class I get some students who get overly involved and even shout in class, and I have to remind them we are inside so they need to use an inside voice. I get some students who pick as soon as they can and don’t even try. The issue is trying to record this data. Things just move so quickly. Good luck on your data collection. I will definitely be interested to hear how it goes for you. Kahoot has been a great addition to my classroom over the last year.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is a good point. I can see some of my classes getting too excited. Thanks for that. I will keep that in mind. I guess I would look to see how students are responding. Or they thinking about it for a second or just clicking so they can get an answer down. I may adjust the time if I need to. Have it for 20 sec. now. I will see how it goes and adjust if needed.

      Like

Leave a Reply

