Week Four 636 Blog

Engaging Students with Kahoot

Literature Review

Technology has changed the way we look at information. Students are growing up on technology. According to the census bureau, in 2013, 74.4 percent of all households reported Internet use. Household computer ownership and Internet use were most common in homes with relatively young householders (File & Ryan, 2013). Students in record numbers are getting online to play games. They have Xbox 360, Playstations 3 and 4, Wii systems, Nintendo, and games that they play on their phones, computers, iPads, etc. When students go to school, they can see the difference between their world and in school. Most schools have out of date information and can’t keep up with the ever changing technology. Engagement is important in a classroom. Any teacher wants to see a student engaged and participating in class. Kahoot is an educational game that can help with that.

The company Kahoot was born in 2012 (Collins, 2015). Its classroom tool can be played on any device with Internet. It uses a game response system where students participate and answer questions that are on the board.  They are trying to earn points as they answer questions. Kahoot uses a game-like interface, so it is easy for students to relate to the platform (Bharti, 2015).

According to TechFaster, Kahoot is leading the charge to “gamify” quizzes and classroom participation. But these kinds of game response systems are nothing new. They have been around since the 1980s. Kahoot is different, though, in that a student can participate with any device. As explained in TechFaster,

“First and foremost it creates 100% engagement in the classroom, focusing students on the content being taught, motivated through the game…. a rare, or unheard of feat!” How does it do this? It changes the classroom into a game show where everyone can participate and try to get the highest score on the board. Multiple studies have been conducted and show an increase in students’ attendance, attentiveness, enthusiasm and in-class participation using tools like Kahoot (Bullock et al., 2003; Roschelle, et al., 2004; and Wits, 2003).

Gamification in the classroom can be used to increase participation, engage learners, and bring a positive attitude to students’behavior.  It can also increase their enjoyment of learning.  The main problem in today’s classrooms is the lack of engagement and motivations for students to participate (Kiryakova et al., 2014). Because they are used to being stimulated by technology in everyday life, they easily get bored with the old teaching methods. Kahoot can change that in the classroom. Students will be excited to learn and participate, and you will see engagement and motivation increase.

References

Bharti, P. (2015). How Kahoot Can Help Teachers to Engage Students. Retrieved September 26, 2015.

Collins, K. (2015). Kahoot! is gamifying the classroom (Wired UK). Retrieved September 26, 2015.

Disney, W. (2015). Texas Association of Literacy Education. Literacy.

D. Bullock, V. LaBella, T. Clingan, Z. Ding, G. Stewart, and P. Thibado, “Enhancing the student-instructor interaction frequency,” The Physics Teacher, vol. 40, no. 9, pp. 535–541, 2003.

EdTech: Kahoot Is Gamifying Quizzes & Classroom Participation | TechFaster. (2014). Retrieved September 26, 2015.

E. Wit, “Who wants to be. . . the use of a personal response system in statistics teaching,” MSOR Connections, vol. 3, no. 2, pp. 14–20, 2003.

File, T., & Ryan, C. (2013). Computer and Internet Use in the United States: 2013. Retrieved September 26, 2015.

J. Roschelle, W. R. Penuel, and L. Abrahamson, “Classroom response and communication systems: Research review and theory,” in Annual Meeting of the American Educational Research Association, San Diego, CA, pp. 1–8, 2004.

Kiryakova, G., Angelova, N., & Yordanova, L. (2014). Gamification in education. Proceedings of 9th International Balkan Education and Science Conference.

Matthews, J., Matthews, M., & Alcena, F. (2015). EDD-7914–Curriculum Teaching and Technology.

QoE in a Cloud-Based Classroom Response System: A Real-Life Longitudinal and Cross-Sectional Study of Kahoot!.

Siegle, D. (2015). Technology Learning Can Be Fun and Games. Gifted Child Today, 38(3), 192-197. 

12 thoughts on “Week Four 636 Blog

  1. Theresa,

    I am very interested in your project of researching Kahoot. I am going to be using clickers in my class, which work in a similar manner. I hope that the students become as engaged as the research suggests they will. Games make learning a lot of fun, and I hope this works well for you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my goodness! I just learned about Kahoot this year and was SO EXCITED about it! Someone told me about it a few months ago and said that it was used on cell phones. Since no phones are allowed in school, I blew it off until I found out they can do it on their laptops! How awesome is that?!? I am working on getting my SMARTBoard working again (sometime technology makes me crazy), but once I have that up and running, I can’t wait to use it for review tests and vocabulary quizzes!
    I have also heard about Plicker. I haven’t looked into it or researched it yet, but I’m very excited to find out more!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Very interesting study you have ahead of you. In my literature review, I also found articles about gamification. Which articles mentioned gamification in your literature review? What is your theoretical framework? I found some articles that linked gamification to Achievement Goal Theory. Did you find anything like this?

    Like

  4. Theresa – remember that if you list something in your Reference list, it should be cited in text somewhere. I see only 7 in text citations, but more listed in your References! So be sure if you are using a resource, that you’ve done both!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. OK I will look at that. So I need to cite something from the references I used. Some I just worded in my own words. So I should look over and make sure I cite something in my paper right?

      Like

  5. Theresa, I’m interested in hearing how this works out for you in your classroom, I’ve heard Kahoot mentioned before, but never knew what it actually was, this sounds so exciting! It sounds like it could be a very entertaining activity for students. Anything that brings technology into the classroom and meets students where they are at is going to help keep them engaged and result in more learning. I think it’s awesome that this is so easy to use in the classroom since kids can use it with any device. I would love to be able to use something like this in my classroom, maybe someday… Maybe I can use your research project to help convince the people at my school 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I have got to play with Kahoot during our back to school inservice. It was the first time I ever saw the program. I am very interested in hearing about your findings. On a different note, I also was confused about citations this week and I had to add mine into my blog. This is definitely a learning process for all of us. I like that you always have a positive attitude. It really does go a long way!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I just heard of Kahoot at the back to school inservice as well. I was like this is pretty cool so that is why I want to try with the kids. Hopeful they will like it as much as I did when I first tried it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

