Week Four Blog 668

Essential Question: What does the way you play have to do with embracing change and how does this impact you as a professional?

I think play has a lot to do with embracing change. In elementary, kids play and have recess, but as soon as they get older that play stops. I think play is important for students and teachers as well.  It gives our brains a break and helps us refocus our thoughts. I often feel better when I take a break and play and then come back to what I was doing.

When I was a student I was always outside playing with friends. I was barely home. I see a difference in kids nowadays from when I was growing up. Most kids want to stay in and play their Xbox 360, Playstation 3, iPad, computer, or some other device. A University Of Michigan study found kids spend 50% less time outside than they did 20 years ago, and 6.5 hours of that they are spending in front of a TV (Brown, 2009).  I think many adults are probably in the same category. Brown (2009) also found “Play-deprived adults are often rigid, humorless, inflexible and closed to trying out new options.”I think it is important to get outside and observe nature and the things around you. Kids and adults need to move. Even if you just take a short walk. I think movement is important in play. Sometimes people might just take a mental break from what they are doing. That is good as well but I really think movement should be including when taking a break. I read somewhere in a study that it is not good to sit for long periods of time. Here this is what we are making our students do. I am trying to include more breaks and movement into my lessons to benefit my students and myself.

The article, “The Benefits of Play For Adults”states that play fuels your imagination, creativity, and problem-solving abilities and improves your mental health. This is why play is important for adults.

Many adults face challenging jobs, deadlines, or people who stress them out. You will not do a good job if you are stressed. Play helps relieve that stress and gets you focused and back on the right track.

Using play in my classroom and life will help me be a better educator. Most educators are against play because of the standards that we have to teach to. We have to constantly look at the data to see if students are meeting those standards. I think most of us don’t have enough time and we don’t want to use what time we have for play. I think, though, that play can be used in a educational setting. You can use it to study for quizzes, review, and play games that relates to what you are studying. If I use play in the classroom it will help my students take a brain break and be able to refocus. Using play as an adult just helps me in my everyday routines of deadlines, grading papers, and coming up with creative solutions in working with students who are stressing me out. I find when I take time out to “play,”and do something else, even for a brief period, when I come back I am not only more focused, but relaxed and able to finish what I need to. Play should be an important factor in everyone’s life because it  can help an individual in school and life.

Reference

Brown, S. (2009, September 2). Let the Children Play (Some More). Retrieved September 24, 2015, from http://opinionator.blogs.nytimes.com/2009/09/02/let-the-children-play-some-more/?_r=0

The Benefits of Play for Adults. (2015). Retrieved September 24, 2015, from http://www.helpguide.org/articles/emotional-health/benefits-of-play-for-adults.htm

Thomas, D., & Brown, J. (2011). A new culture of learning: Cultivating the imagination for a world of constant change. Lexington, Ky.: Soulellis Studio.

7 thoughts on “Week Four Blog 668

  1. When I read the essential question this week I only related it to technology play. I love that you included it all. I agree, kids and adults alike need to get out and play. Their play may look completely different but it is essential to recharge, balance ourselves, and give us a sense of wellness. We can learn so much while we play and it is important that the understanding of that is there as well. Even just the social aspect and exposure to hands on experiences can be a wonderful thing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Does it make you just a little bit crazy that play provides a “brain break”, and learning requires one? I wrestle with this tension all the time. Perhaps by making learning more playful, our brains won’t need breaks?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You wrote: “It gives our brains a break and helps us refocus our thoughts. I often feel better when I take a break and play and then come back to what I was doing.”

    I completely agree with your statement. Many times if I am having trouble concentrating or finishing an assignment, I take a break and come back to it at a later time. After taking a break I feel recharged and ready to work. For this reason I am a true believer in snack break and extra recess in my classroom. I don’t go all day with taking breaks, why would I expect my students to.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I glad to see you also pointed out how we sit too long. I schedule time for the students to get up and move. I will also incorporate games for the students to engage in the middle of class. I do it as a bell ringer to engage their focus on math, but I can see a break in the middle would be great too.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

