Week 1 Blog 636

Week 1: EDET 636 Essential Question: What is classroom research and how can it improve technology integration in my classroom?

Classroom research is looking at your practice and things that you would like to improve and reflect on. I think classroom research and action research is the same. McNiff (2002), states that, “Action Research is a term which refers to a practical way of looking at your own work to check as you would like it to be.” I think this can improve technology integration in my classroom by looking at my practice and seeing where and what I need to improve on.

Action research is when you look at yourself and do research on why you do things the way you do. Some times you don’t realize you do something until you really look at yourself or even how someone else observe you. I remember when I first started teaching. I didn’t realize that I said, “UM” a lot or that I tend to look at one side of the classroom than the other. This type of research is good for you to grow. After I realized what I was doing I made an effort to work on those and correct the mistakes that I was making.

Classroom research can improve technology integration in my classroom because if I know what I can do or what I need work on then I would more likely improve in that area and as a results improve technology integration in my classroom. Looking at what needs improvement is the easiest part. So if you look at your class and see what you would like your students to do more. For me, I would like to see more participation. When I ask a question I often get a few responses. I think many students are shy or don’t want to say the wrong answer. I am going to look in starting Kahoot in my classroom for my research project and see what a impact that will make in my classes.

How does one go about and conduct a classroom action research? In the article, “The What, Why and How of Classroom Action Research” it list steps that you can follow.

Step One: Identify a question or problem: This should be something related to student learning in your classroom.

Step Two: Review Literature: You need to gather two types of information background and data.

Step Three: Plan a research strategy: Try to gather as least three types of data (student test scores, evaluations, and observation of the student behavior.)

Step Four: Gather Data: Gather your notes that you have been using.

Step Five: Make sense of the data: look at your data and look for findings.

Step Six: Take Action: Use your findings to make decisions.

Step Seven: Share your findings: Share with your team of teachers you work with.

I found these steps to be useful for when I start my action research project. I can look back and look at the steps so I don’t forget anything. So I am looking at researching the effectiveness of Kahoot in the classroom. I want to see if it makes a difference in participation in the classroom. I look forward to see what my findings show me.

References

McNiff, J. (2002). Action Research For Professional Development. Retrieved September 2, 2015, from http://www.jeanmcniff.com/ar-booklet.asp

Rauch, F., Schuster, A., Stern, T., Pribila, M., & Townsend, A. (Eds.). (2014). Promoting Change through Action Reseach. Retrieved September 2, 2015, from https://www.sensepublishers.com/media/2101-promoting-change-through-action-research.pdf

The What, Why and How of Classroom Action Research. (2015). Retrieved September 2, 2015, from http://josotl.indiana.edu/article/viewFile/1589/1588

8 thoughts on “Week 1 Blog 636

  1. “Some times you don’t realize you do something until you really look at yourself or even how someone else observe you.” This is so true! You said that you were saying “Um” a lot, and I catch myself saying “Okay” all the time in class. I actually want to video tape myself sometime so I can see what it’s really like to hear me teach. I think getting in the action research mindset is going to help us all become better teachers because we’re all going to be so much more reflective!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I never knew what action research or classroom research was in the sense of a true definition. I like how it forces us to focus on ourselves and what we are doing in the classroom. It forces us to look at ourselves to see how we can improve our teaching or the environment of the classroom without “blaming” anyone else for what is going on at school. Thanks for listing those steps in your blog, I’m going to print them out so I have them on hand for the research project.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am so glad you brought up the issue of participation. I also find this to be a struggle. I was curious about your plan for action research involving Kahoot. Is this some type of student response device? Does it require hardware or software? I use TurningPoint student response devices in my classroom. I have definitely noticed greater participation with TurningPoint, however, the hardware I have only allows for multiple choice responses.

    Like

    1. I just found out about this the beginning of the school year so I don’t know much about it. I am still trying to figure it out myself. You can create questions and then you give a set of answers. The student then log on to a computer and answer the question. I will have to check out Turning point. Have not heard of that.

      Like

  4. I love using Kahoot! The kids think it is the greatest and request to play it about everyday. I have had one problem with it that I am not sure how to fix. Some students just guess every time and never read the question. I have found that reminding students, before we play, that they get 0 points if they get it wrong and even if they take a long time they get like 500 pts. or more helps a little. However, there are still students who just don’t want to try. Also, I have found that if you wait a little while and then try to provide helpful hints near the end of the time limit students will sometimes at least wait a little longer and will actually try to make an educated guess, rather than just a guess.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

