Week 11 Robotics

developing-21st-century-critical-thinkers-infographic-mentoring-minds

Week 11 Robotics: How have you and will you continue to “Learn the 21st Century” and allow your students this experience in your classroom?

I have been taking technology classes and am working on getting my Master’s in Educational Technology. I know how important it is for students to be prepared for the 21st century, and I need to be able to teach them those skills. I see technology changing every year, and I need to be able to change with it in order to be an effective educator.

Martinez & Stager (2013) write that “Failure to embrace the kids’competence, capacity, and creativity leads educators to deprive children of opportunities to achieve their potential.” As educators, we want the best for our students, and our possessing knowledge about emerging technologies will help their future (see Partnership for 21st Century Skills website at https://thepartnershipfor21stcenturyskills238.eduvision.tv/Default.aspx?q=3SfVi13wT7T8XQLC3T3ZAg%253d%253d#.VbMTDAjAqUo.gmail).

This is only possible “when communication, collaboration, critical thinking, and creativity take center stage in schools and transform learning opportunities for all kids” (The Partnership for 21st Century, 2015). I think these are important skills to have in a classroom.

As an educator, I will continue to take classes that will help me to become a better 21st century teacher. Once I am finished with my degree, I will still take classes that I know will help me and my students. Technology changes all of the time, so I know how important it is to keep up. I will also follow my Twitter and follow other sites to stay informed about new developments. There are many resources in the “Invent to Learn” book and on the Internet that will help me, as well. All I have to do is search for them. As a result of the courses I have been taking, I am better prepared than I would otherwise be to transfer technical knowledge to my students so they will be prepared for the 21st century’s demands.

References

Above & Beyond. (2015). JDL Horizons LLC., Retrieved July 25, 2015, from https://thepartnershipfor21stcenturyskills238.eduvision.tv/default.aspx

25 Ways to Develop 21st Century Thinkers ~ Educational Technology and Mobile Learning. (2015). Retrieved July 25, 2015, from http://www.educatorstechnology.com/2013/06/25-ways-to-develop-21st-century-thinkers.html

Martinez, S., & Stager, G. (2013). Invent to learn: Making, tinkering, and engineering in the classroom. Torrance, CA: Constructing Modern Knowledge Press.

7 thoughts on “Week 11 Robotics

  1. I plan on continuing to take technology courses. It will be important since technolgoy continuously changes. I am not very good at tweeting, but following educational sites on Twitter will help me to keep up on 21st century teaching. I agree with you, “Invent to Learn” does have a plethora of informational resources that will be extremely helpful.

    Like

  2. The fact that we are all pursuing advanced degrees shows we are trying to keep up with 21st century skills. One of the greatest benefits are the online resources we’ve discovered as we research answers to our weekly questions. I find myself going back to these websites when I need ideas. There’s no way we can keep up with all of the new technologies that develop but we can try to find enough ways to keep our classrooms innovative and interesting. We just have to keep the momentum going.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I only had plans to take this one technology course, but I feel like I’ve gotten a ton out of it. I’m also getting a lot out of my Mathematics Master’s program; it’s true that college really pushes and motivates. Unfortunately, it’s also quite expensive. As silly as this sounds, I’ve learned a whole lot from the Summer of Scripting course on Khan academy. Is it meant for students younger than me? Yes. Has that mattered? Not a bit! I’ve challenged myself to go the extra mile, since I’m a bit older and have a little more experience than some. Honestly though, I keep finding courses and tutorials meant for children that I believe could also be hugely beneficial to adults trying to pick up new technology skills. Since there might not be another college level technology class in the near future for me, I’m seriously considering seeking out more opportunities like this. What I REALLY like about Khan’s summer of scripting is that it has a pacing guide, with weekly goals to meet. That’s great for procrastinators and busy people alike. Like Scott said, we have to keep the momentum going.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I really like the infographic at the top of your post. I have really enjoyed being in classes with you Theresa. I will be graduating with a master’s in math education. When UAS set up my program they did a fantastic job -almost half of the courses are technology related. They were so smart to do it that way; it really makes for the perfect 21 century math program. It also works out good for me because I was originally in the tech program but the state had a grant for masters of math, so I get the best of both worlds.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

