Week 8 Reflection: Emerging Technology

Week 8 Reflection: Emerging Technology

This week in our Emerging Technology class we were reading about Minecraft and what game we could create that would help students to learn. I really enjoyed this blog because I took a class on it last semester. I think you can do so much with Minecraft in any classroom. One article I read said that it can be faster than any traditional method because students are more motivated and get more practice.

My game would be something like the Givercraft Unit that we did in our last class. Students would read a book and then go into Minecraft and create buildings that we read about. Students can create a map or scavenger hunt with clues. They can create real life buildings that we read about. I was thinking a good unit would be one on the “Two Old Women” book. The students can learn about survival skills though survival mode. They would have to go in and make a house and get food and then compare that to what they were reading in “Two Old Women.” I think there is so much that students can do using Minecraft in a classroom.

Reading other people’s blogs, I think most of us are fairly new to Minecraft. I first heard of Minecraft about two years ago. I didn’t know what it was, but I knew that kids wanted to play it. They would come in at lunch time just to play this game. It wasn’t until this last semester’s class that I actually started to play Minecraft. I have seen students of all ages attracted to this game. When I first started to play, I went to my cousin’s place to see my niece and nephew so they could help me figure out how to play. They were 6 and 8 when they first started to teach me. They learned before that and were good at it. They thought it was funny that I didn’t know how to play. I finally learned how to move around and learned some basic skills.

I would love to use Minecraft in my classroom. I think that the students would be engaged and really enjoy this supplement to the classroom. I just need to find out how to get it started in my classroom. I know that I don’t know everything about Minecraft, but I am sure that the students will know more than me and they can teach me and other students about it.  It will be a great learning experience for us all. Through trial and error, I would figure out the best way to use this in my classroom. I know, though, I would like to at least try it and see how engaged the students are using it. That is what I want to see—my students excited and engaged in what they are learning about.

Leave a Reply

