Week 6 Robotics

Week 6: What Stuff will you stock your making space with, what’s the cost, and how will you fund it?

This is a tough question for me being that I don’t know much about MakerSpaces and the tools and projects you can do with MakerSpaces. I think that I would go with a beginning MakerSpace from the MakerSpace playbook. If I had at least the basic supplies then I can work on getting other supplies. I would also have students fill out interests form like the one on page 64 so I know what students are interested in. If I knew what student were interested in then I can see what other supplies I need.

So looking at the MakerSpace Playbook I think I would go with pages 73-75. I think I would first see what students were interested in and who can help the students with the projects before buying something. It does not help to buy something and not one know how to work it or no ones is interested in it. So seek information first and then see about buying I would say. So the pages from the MakerSpace playbook is here:

Screen Shot 2015-06-20 at 8.45.22 PM Screen Shot 2015-06-20 at 8.45.34 PM Screen Shot 2015-06-20 at 8.45.45 PM

I am not sure exactly how much this would cost. I would say at least 10,000. The way I would fund the MakerSpace is first go to my coworkers. I will need help to run this MakerSpace. I am not an expert on all things with a MakerSpace and I am sure they are plenty of experts out their that are willing to help. Once we see who can help in different MakerSpace then we can see if students are interested in that MakerSpace. I would also send out a list to parents/guardians, our school partners and local businesses to see about helping. I would also call the local MakerSpace here in Anchorage and see if someone can help us get started.

Once I get information on how to get started and people to help then I would seek funding. I would look at my list that I have see which tools we have already at the school and cross those off. I would then send out a newsletter to the staff and parents of items that we need donated. I would seek donation from our school partnerships. Beg and borrow. Do a tool drive in your community. Your neighbors may have some of the tools you need and be happy to share these with a new generation of Makers (Hlubinka, 2013).

The students can also do fund raising such as car washes, sell items at track meets, wrestling meets, cross country and volleyball. We can have a school dance and sell tickets for that and items at the dance. Students can also sell items that were created. I can also get ideas from students on ways that we can make extra money.

I would seek out grants and donations. Grants for MakerSpace schools is full of links and tips. You could invite business sponsors to donate and back up the expenses of your MakerSpace, just as local sports teams have support from their community businesses (Hlubinka,2013). From the article The Beginning Guide To MakerSpaces it said that you don’t have to look too far for potential donors. Here are a few places it said to look at:

•Local MakerSpaces and HackerSpaces

•Local hardware stores

•Local robotics, quilting, sewing, knitting, crocheting, woodworking, pottery, or other arts and crafts groups

•Local writers and illustrators groups

•Chamber of Commerce

•School district

•Service organizations (Kiwanis, Lions Club, Knights of Columbus, etc.)

•University programs and student  groups

•Retirees and/or independent living facilities

•Local/regional economic development authorities

•Local theatre groups who have money to buy supplies for productions but need volunteers to help make props, costumes, and sets

•Large corporations or universities who regularly discard technology and other equipment”

DonorsChoose.org.

adoptaclassroom.org

gofindme.org

Garcia-Lopez, (2015) said some other places for funding is Lowes Toolbox for Education, Indiegogo is a crowdfunding platform where people tell their story and get the word out. PG&E Bright Ideas is a great idea for alternative energy materials.  ING Unsung Heroes are selected to receive $2,000 scholarships to help fund projects. These are other places that you can look for funding.

I know that it would take a lot of money, work and people to get this started. I think if I had help then I could start something like this at my school. I know I want a space for students to be creative where they can design, program and build.

References

Garcia-Lopez, P. (2015). 6 Strategies for Funding a Makerspace. Retrieved June 20, 2015, from http://www.edutopia.org/blog/6-strategies-funding-makerspace-paloma-garcia-lopez

Hlubinka, M. (2013). Stocking up School Makerspaces | Make: DIY Projects, How-Tos, Electronics, Crafts and Ideas for Makers. Retrieved June 20, 2015, from http://makezine.com/2013/08/21/stocking-up-school-makerspaces/

Makerspace Playbook School Edition. (2013). Retrieved June 20, 2015, from http://makered.org/wp-content/uploads/2014/09/Makerspace-Playbook-Feb-2013.pdf

Martinez, S., & Stager, G. (2013). Invent to learn: Making, tinkering, and engineering in the classroom. Torrance, Calif.: Constructing Modern Knowledge Press.

The Beginner’s Guide to Makerspaces   Tags: Edtech, fab labs, makerspaces, school libraries  . (2015). Retrieved June 20, 2015, from http://libraryschool.libguidescms.com/content.php?pid=669125&sid=5540523

7 thoughts on “Week 6 Robotics

  1. I am in the same position as you as far as being new to MakerSpaces. I was also thinking about starting with the beginning makerspace. I like the idea of having the students complete the interest form and getting an idea of supplies that you will need off of that. I would also seek the assistance of my peers. I would plan on having a community drive and enlist the support of our business partners. I have already signed up on DonorsChoose.org and I plan on talking to my principal about a MakerSpace after school club and applying for the Lowes Toolbox for Education.

    Here are some Anchorage Maker websites that I found.

    http://www.anchoragemakerspace.com/
    http://groupspaces.com/AnchorageMakerSpace/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I saw that they had a Anchorage MakerSpace here. I was surprised. I bet someone would be willing to come over and help getting started since they have gone through the process already.

      Like

  2. I agree that outfitting a maker space will be a challenge. It’s hard to know whether to start with a large, well stocked space or start small and try to build it over time. I am leaning toward a small space using as many items as possible that are either donated or available for free. There will still be a need for tools which will require some funds. I like your list of possible funding sources, especially your inclusion of community organizations. In addition to monetary donations, these groups can also provide expertise on a variety of building/making skills. Using community members as guest instructors will allow them to see first-hand what is happening in the club while sharing their knowledge with the kids.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for pointing out the interest form – I totally didn’t see that before. I like how you said its important for you to know what the students are interested in. I can’t tell you how many times (and I am guilty of this too) where adults come up with a plan for students without student input and then the adults can’t figure out why it wasn’t successful. I really like your list of resources. When I saw your “retirees and/or independent living facilities” a little light bulb went off – how cool would it be to have a community makerspace at the pioneer home or other senior housing center. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I like the interest form and your idea of a student survey to determine which direction you’d like to head with your Makerspace; that’s a great plan.

    Looking at your list of places to try to get funding, I’m a little jealous. Living in a rural village in Alaska crosses almost all of those possibilities off my list. I will say that I’m more likely to get support from friends and family in the lower 48, and we’ve had church groups and other community organizations from teachers’ hometowns send us donations of school supplies, books, and clothing, so maybe that would be an option for me. I hate to think about shipping expenses, as well, but little items won’t be too bad and there are options for freight mail for heavier options. I’ll just have to add that to my list of things to research.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hear you. I have grown up in a village so I know how hard it is to get things in a village. Kids can do fund raisers as well cake walks, carnival or things like this. They can raise some money which would help.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

