Week 5 Robotics

Week 5: What Is The Relationship Between Teaching And Learning?

What I see as the relationship between teaching and learning is teaching is the person giving instruction or guiding the learning. Learning is the person receiving the information. When looked up in dictionary.com, teaching is the occupation, profession, or work of a teacher. When I think of a teacher, I think of one I had when going to school. I think a teacher can be anyone who is trying to show someone something new or help them understand something. They can be a teacher to that person. Learning, according to dictionary.com, is knowledge acquired through experience, study, and being taught. So learning is acquisition of information. You don’t have to spend more than five minutes teaching in a classroom, though, before realizing that, while the teacher is supposed to be delivering information and the students acquiring it, the teacher is also always learning from the students.

The article, “The Relationship Between Teaching and Learning”states that, “[a] t the ‘Information Transmission Teacher Focused –ITTF’pole, teaching is based on the transmission of content from the syllabus or the textbook, and learning is perceived as ‘information acquisition’, driven and assessed by external factors to the students. At the other pole, the ‘Conceptual Change Student Focused –CCSF’approach, learning is discussed in terms of developing personal meaning through conceptual development and/or change, while teaching is perceived as supporting the students in this process (Trigwell & Prosser, 2004).

A teacher who allows time and support to rethink and revise gives a child autonomy and the ability to trust themselves to be problem solvers (Martinez & Stager, 2013). This is what teaching is. We want students to be able to solve problems as they come to them. Martinez and Stager (2103) say that most of American education is instructions, or direct instruction. I know I am guilty of this. I want my students to understand, so I take them through things step by step so I know they understand. Constructionist teachers look for ways to create experiences for students that value the students’ existing knowledge and expose students to “aha!” moments. I would say that I am a bit of both types of teacher. I do give direct instruction, but, other times, I let students figure things out for themselves.

I really like the Big Ideas on page 73 of the  Invent to Learn book. Below are the eight big ideas behind a constructionist learning lab written by Dr. Seymour Papert:

  1. The first big idea is learn by doing
  2. The second big idea is technology as building material.
  3. The third big idea is hard fun.
  4. The fourth big idea is learning to learn.
  5. The fifth big idea is taking time–the proper time–for a job.
  6. The sixth big idea is the biggest of all: You can’t get it right without getting it wrong.
  7. The seventh big idea is do unto ourselves what we do unto our students.
  8. The eighth big idea is we are entering a digital world where knowing about digital technology is as important as reading and writing. (Stager, 2006)

These are all good ideas on teaching. This is a good list of explaining constructionist methods to others. Talking should not be the primary work of the teacher: learning about the students should be (Martinez & Stager, 2013). There is a relationship between teaching and learning. When teachers are giving instruction, we should not take too much time. The longer you delay students from getting to the “making”part of the design cycle, the more disengaged they will become and the longer it will take them to learn the lesson (Martinez & Stager, 2013). When we pay close attention to how our students are doing, we can see they are always telling us what we are doing wrong. And one thing they have taught me is that when I come up with curriculum that uses hands-on projects or other project based learning, students are more engaged. When students become fully engaged learners, we teachers become more satisfied as teachers.

References

Hyu-Yong Park (2008). “You are confusing!”: Tensions between Teacher’s and Students’ Discourses in the Classroom. Journal of Classroom Interaction, 43(1), pp. 4-13.

Learning. (2015). Dictionary.com Unabridged. Retrieved June 13, 2015, from Dictionary.com website: http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/learning.Martinez, S., & Stager, G. (2013). Invent to learn: Making, tinkering, and engineering in the classroom. Torrance, Calif.: Constructing Modern Knowledge Press.

Martinez, S., & Stager, G. (2013). Invent to learn: Making, tinkering, and engineering in the classroom. Torrance, Calif.: Constructing Modern Knowledge Press.

Pedrosa-de-Jesus, H., & Da Silva Lopes, B. (2009). Exploring The Relationship Between Teaching And Learning Conceptions and Questioning Practices,Towards Academic Development. Retrieved June 12, 2015, from http://www.kcl.ac.uk/…/HPedrosadeJesus-BdaSilvaLope.

Teaching. (2015). Dictionary.com Unabridged. Retrieved June 13, 2015, from Dictionary.com website: http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/learning

3 thoughts on “Week 5 Robotics

  1. Your post led me to an interesting train of thought, making connections with other classes I’ve taken and other areas I’m focusing on for my teaching. I find that I, too, am a bit of both when it comes to teaching styles. One of the reasons I find myself wanting to rely more heavily on direct instruction is that my students’ frame of reference is pretty dramatically different from what you’d expect in say Anchorage or the lower 48. A lot of the background knowledge that you’d expect middle and high school students to have, just isn’t there when you teach in bush Alaska. This makes it a bit harder to design ways for students to connect new learning with their existing knowledge.

    Of course that doesn’t mean it can’t be done; it’s just that helping my students make meaningful connections is a little more challenging, because their experience is limited (or at least very different from my own growing up and different from a lot of other students today). I think this is one reason why culturally relevant teaching is such a hot topic in Alaska. Part of the cultural standards include helping students learn in and from their native environment. This is project based learning at its best, because it uses the students’ prior knowledge and experience to help them connect with content meaningfully. The hard part for new teachers is learning enough about a new culture and environment to facilitate those meaningful connections.

    I remember a previous blog post for this course that discussed building traditional Tlingit houses in Minecraft. That’s a great example of a project that connects culture and experience to Making. My time-lapse photography project idea was similar, helping students record and appreciate the ever-changing landscape they live in. I guess going forward, if I want to embrace constructivism more fully in my classroom, I’ll have to keep developing and looking for projects that meet the unique needs and experience of the students I teach.

    Like

    1. I think this is why I teach the way I do sometimes. I don’t know if they had the background knowledge or not and even if they did I think well I will just remind them. Yes I have seen many teachers come and go when I was growing up in my village. I think it is hard for some of them to understand the culture life. Even though they might of taken culture classes that does not compare to when you are actually there. Yes that was Cindi’s post because I thought that was a wonderful project.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. My friend and I were just having a discussion about this today. She teaches on an island and I teach in Fairbanks. She was explaining to me why she is adding preschool to her already full classroom (she teaches k-6 and has about 8 students). She said that she and her partner teacher (who teaches 7-12) had to sit down and plan how they are going to get students from kindergarten to graduation. A lot of what they have in books needs to be given context because their students don’t have personal knowledge with it. I am going to share with her your ideas. It also helps me think about how I can help my students (who are all from military families) make meaningful connections to their lives. They have to move every three years and their mom or dad is gone for extended periods of time. You definitely have me thinking!

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

