Week 3 Emerging Technology

Week 3: Which emerging pedagogy appeals most to you, and might be most useful for your classroom and students? Why?

The emerging pedagogy that appeals most to me is flipped classroom and MOOCs. I am not quite sure which one would be most useful for my classroom and students yet since I am still learning about them but they both sound very interesting and I would like to learn more about them.

According to The Teacher’s Guide To A Flip Classroom, “Flipped Learning is a pedagogical approach in which direct instruction moves from the group learning space to the individual learning space, and the resulting group space is transformed into a dynamic, interactive learning environment where the educator guides students as they apply concepts and engage creatively in the subject matter.”

A flip classroom gives teacher more opportunity to work with students. So a flip classroom is when students do some of the learning at home. It said teachers are encouraged to give student options. All students are different learning and some students will learn better reading a textbook than watching a video. Students don’t all learn at the same pace and in the same ways. With a flipped classroom if they are watching a video at home they can pause it, rewind it and listen to it again.

The only thing that I see that would be a problem is student’s that don’t have access to a computer at home. I have many of those students. I rarely give work outside of the class because of this. What I found is when I did the students didn’t have the assignment finished. They then have to finish it at school and therefore getting further behind from their classmates. I offer students to come in at lunch but only a few showed to do that.

What I see as an advantage is I think flip classrooms and MOOCs would be great for students that are independent learners. Students have a hunger for learning from the best scholars on the planet, and this would be a way to help them do that (Thompson, 2013).

MOOCs have been slow to take off in schools for students aged 11-18 in Florida, where Governor Rick Scott last year signed a law allowing high schools to offer MOOCs, pilots are underway in computer science, biology and math, among other subjects (Morrison, 2014).

This also would be a good solution to issues at middle school around tracking, and parents wanting their kids ready for accelerated classes in high school. This would give those students who want to be ready for advance classes in high school or if they are interested in a topic and want to know more about it. This would also help students who have fallen behind and need extra help in a subject or are trying to get credits to finish high school.

I still have much to learn about these and how I can implement them in my class. I do see a benefit with using them but I would need training first on how to use it in my class and how it would look. I know that it would help my students and I look forward to learning more about it and one day using it in my class.

References

The Teacher’s Guide To Flipped Classrooms. (2015). Retrieved May 30, 2015, from http://www.edudemic.com/guides/flipped-classrooms-guide/

Thompson, G. (2013). Get Ready: MOOCs Are Coming to K-12 — THE Journal. Retrieved May 30, 2015, from http://thejournal.com/articles/2013/09/02/get-ready-moocs-are-coming-to-k-12.aspx

Morrison, N. (2014). The Future Of MOOCs in The Classroom. Retrieved May 31, 2015, from http://www.forbes.com/sites/nickmorrison/2014/06/25/the-future-of-moocs-in-the-11-18-classroom/

11 thoughts on “Week 3 Emerging Technology

  1. I think that the most compelling thoughts I had on my flipped classroom research was 1) teachers will now need to have meaningful organized ways to fill newly liberated class time and 2) it will be vulnerable being accessible online… By everyone.

    1) Teachers will need to have quality plans for how to use the extra class time …and that will take time to put together. I don’t think a big free chunk of time for “study hall” is going to do it. Also it is not as simple as creating a video and “presto” my lesson for that day is done… For the rest of my life…

    2). Students, parents, peers, administrators, school board members will all be able to watch my videos. I’ve been teaching for a while and I mostly have it figured out… But I feel somewhat vulnerable about being exposed in such a format. I feel a certain performance anxiety.

    Did you see any of those issues referenced in your research? Thanks for letting me read your blog!!!;).

    Like

    1. I agree Jason – the in class time will be spent in active individual and small group learning. “Workshopping” if you will. So this will require planning and a very different approach than most teachers use in some subjects. Even engaging your students in helping to plan these activities could be good – as they could point out which activities would be most beneficial. I of course tend toward project based learning – and think using a flipped model solves the problem of “not enough time” for PBL.

      Also – in terms of making the videos – it could be a good way to connect with parents and administrators. You are a teacher! I am sure you are a good one! Helping them to see what the kids are studying could help to humanize you and help them see where you are coming from. When I first started putting videos online I was pretty scared about it. Now, I realize almost no one watches them 😉 – no really. Not unless they are required :-). So I am much less nervous – I do as well as I can with the videos, make them short and to the point as much as is possible, and people watch them if they are helpful mainly. I’ve gotten some thumbs down on videos here and there, but I am resilient, and I am not a professional broadcaster, nor are these videos supposed to be models of high tech production. They were made for a specific audience, with a specific goal in mind. And they served that purpose. If they help others, so much the better. If not – well there are thousands if not millions of other videos to choose from. So I think a little resilience goes a long way – and it’s best to understand “Critic’s Math” and be aware. I get a lot more likes than thumbs down. I don’t have to take the thumbs downs I get to heart.

      Here’s an article on Critic’s Math as illustrated by perhaps one of the most abrasive people in show business, Larry David …https://www.facebook.com/notes/margaret-feinberg/guest-blogger-larry-david-the-3-problems-with-critics-math-by-jonacuff/346928495361285

      Lee

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I like the idea of the flipped classroom as well. Once you have gotten everything figured out one year, you can reuse what worked and change what didn’t the next. This also allows the students to move at their own pace the second year because all of the instructional videos are completed. I think it’s a great idea to have the classroom time as a time for students to work on their homework and ask questions. It seems like my students really seem to understand what they are learning during direct instruction and guided learning, but then when they get home to do their homework it has all left their brains and they are completely lost. If I flipped that though it might really help. I have been thinking about the best way to incorporate this into the classroom for the last year and I think I’m really going to give it a shot this year. A way to overcome the lack of technology at home is to allow students who don’t have internet at home to watch it in class the next day while you help other students who got to watch it at home. This may cause them to get a little bit behind, but I think it wouldn’t be more than they would normally be since they are using class time when direct instruction would normally be taking place.

    Like

    1. I hope it works out for you! I am still a little nervous about trying it out in my classroom. I love the idea but think I need support with it the first time. If I had a mentor or someone to support me with this I think I would more likely try it out.

      Like

  3. I had two realizations about flipped classrooms as I did my research on the subject and I wondered what you guys thought about this.

    1) teachers who flip, spend time making video content are also going to have to make sure they have a detailed plan for how to use the newly liberated class time. I don’t think a “study hall” approach to this time is necessarily a good way to go. I think in my mind I have underestimated the importance in planning and using this time to its fullest.
    2). There is a certain vulnerability to posting video content online. Students, parents, administrators, board members, may all have access to this material. The quality of videos posted is important… For both showing you are a professional and for your audience to enjoy… That is somewhat intimidating to me.

    Like

    1. I agree with you on the class time. I don’t think a study hall would work as well. This would take a lot of planning and organization and classroom management to work. That would be intimidating to me as well.

      Like

  4. I agree a flipped classroom would require a great deal of time and commitment on creating the homework videos. I am not really seeing the benefits from a flipped classroom. I know that the article says it allows the time for students to be creatively engaged. I was wondering what that looks. Many students do not have access to technology and when would you find time in the day to have them watch it at school. I have created videos using educreations and then publishing them using tiny URL. In the videos I worked through several problems we had completed in class. I did this to remind them what we had worked on in math that day. Many students that had access to computers did view them. Parents also found the videos helpful to understand what there children are doing in math.
    I wonder if this model might be a better fit for middle our high school than in elementary. Students and the the teacher would have to be highly motivated.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes I agree that the student and teacher would have to be highly motivated. I agree on that that if they don’t have time or access to a computer at home then they would have to watch it at school and I am not sure how that would look. That is a great start of doing those videos. Parents would appreciate it as well. I thin it wold be a better fit for middle school or high school.

      Like

  5. Flipping a classroom will definitely take a different mindset. This is true for the teachers, students, and parents. Most of the parents will be unfamiliar with this approach. This will make it important to inform them what you plan to do and invite them to view the material with their kids. It would also be good to share some of the research that shows the benefits of flipped classrooms. Even though activity in the classroom will change, there will still be some similarity. Teachers will still use the time for students to practice but the activities can go into greater depth. Collaboration amongst students will provide a diverse collection of ideas. My feeling is students will adjust quickly to the new routine. One of the challenges will be to motivate students to actually view the material each night.

    Like

    1. Hi All – I think it’s interesting that we don’t think students have to as motivated to do homework as they have to be to watch a video! It’s interesting to me because watching the video is really a more passive task, so you’d think that students would be more likely to do that than to work through problems (where they could get frustrated and stuck). Does this make sense to anyone else?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

