Week 1 reflection

Reflection

            Where to start? This week has been a whirlwind for me. Everything that I have done this week was new. I started a blog, a twitter account, Google hangouts, made an infographic, chart, tweeted with others, and posted to other people’s blogs. All of this is very new to me and was a little overwhelming at times.

I don’t think I’ve emailed anyone as much as I have emailed my instructor about the assignments. From day one, everything was not going right for me. I was very excited about starting this class, but when I tried to log on to Google hangouts I didn’t have the plug-in application for it. I tried to join the class to observe but didn’t make it to do that. I was just happy that my instructor made a video of the class that she posted to YouTube. I finally started to watch the video and then my computer died and my clock got messed up. I needed an administrator’s password to fix it. I finally watched the video on my phone. The next day, I went to see the computer guy who helped me install the plug-in for Google hangouts and Java for Minecraft. I was feeling good and ready for things to come.

The next new thing I learned was Twitter. I learned how to manage to get a tweet out to others. That was a new learning experience for me. It took me a little while to figure out where the others were tweeting but I managed to get some tweets in. I was pretty excited about that. I think I can get the hang of posting a tweet after a few times.

I then started to work on my blog. This was quite frustrating for me since I couldn’t see my blog being posted. It kept saying an error occurred. I emailed my professor and she helped me, and I eventually figured that some how I had managed to make myself two names and one of them wasn’t working. I finally managed to connect to the right blog and posted my blog—only to find out that when you post, it doesn’t look like it does when you first type it. I went back in and tried to edit it, and I edited a few things, but one of my paragraphs wouldn’t return, and I couldn’t get them to indent. I ended up leaving it as best as I could and went to go work on uploading my infographic chart.

My infographic assignment was unfamiliar to me as well. I’ve never made an infographic and did a simple chart about differentiation. I had trouble with uploading this and finally learned that it needed to be an image instead of a PDF. I finally got that uploaded. It was a relief knowing I’d gotten them finished and uploaded.

Lastly, I was working on posting to people’s blogs. I am still not sure if I did it correctly, but I guess I will find out. I have learned many new tasks this week. I know it will take me a while to really get it down, but I am willing to learn. I am thrilled about what we are going to do next—Minecraft. That is going to be another new experience, but I am ready to start to learn about it. I got the game downloaded and will figure out how it works once I start to play it.

All of these new experiences are exhilarating but also frustrating at times. All I have to remember is to take one step at a time and take a break if I start to feel frustrated and then come back to it. I know, though, that I will get through this and it will become easier. I am just looking forward to the day when I can bring this to my classroom and share what I have learned with my students.

Leave a Reply

